Hunting Tourism

Tanzania is Africa’s premier trophy hunting safari destination. It has one of the largest populations of big game in Africa and a greater variety of wildlife than most other countries in the world. It is the place to see the spectacular and seemingly endless herds of wildebeest and zebra followed by large predators: lion, leopard and hyenas. It ranks first in terms of lion population and third with regard to elephant population in the world. Its bird life is unique with over 1,000 species. Its lakes and rivers bound with fish and its islands and costs offer some of the best game fishing sites in the world.

Hunting is part of Tanzania’s wildlife conservation strategy and a requirement for its long-term survival. Hunting safaris are being organized in hunting blocks located in game reserves, game controlled areas, wildlife open areas and wildlife management areas by licensed hunting companies. TAWA is regulating and controlling all activities related to hunting.

Animals to hunt

Tanzania offers variety of huntable games varying from small ungulates to the largest herbivores of the earth. Some of the most common species Buffalo, Bushpig, Bushbuck, Crocodile, Eland, Elephant, Greater Kudu, Hartebeest, Hippo, Hyena, Impala, Klipspringer, Leopard, Lion, Reedbuck, Roan, Sable antelope, Serval Cat, Steenbok, Suni, Vervet Monkey, Warthog, Wild Cat, Wildebeest and Zebra. It further offers a variety of game and water birds.


Safari hunting is regulated by tourist hunting regulations, which is connected with TAWA’s conservation strategy. Hunting is controlled by quota issued annually under quota allocation advisory committee based on harvest theory, animal populations, and search efforts.

When to hunt?

The hunting season in Tanzania begins from 1st July to 31st December. These are mainly the dry months although some rain may be expected during November and December.

Hunting Companies

The Minister responsible for natural resources and tourism allocates hunting blocks in game reserves, game controlled areas and wildlife open areas using auction, tendering or any other modality that is transparent and in line with the principles of good governance. Authorized association allocates hunting blocks found in Wildlife Management Areas. The tenure of hunting block allocation is 10 years for category I and II and 15 years for category III hunting blocks. The Authority shall advertise vacant hunting block(s) and invite applications based on the criteria set

Hunting permits

Hunting companies apply for hunting permit on behalf of the hunting client at TAWA designated offices. The application is then reviewed and permits are issued when satisfied that all condition have been met.

Safari Packages

There are three safari packages set based on number of days and species to be hunted; Regular (10 Days), Major (14 Days) and Premium (21Days). In order to meet customer wishes, the regulations offers inter-company hunting permit which allows hunters to move from one hunting block to another belonging to a different hunting company after paying a token fee depending on the package.

Bird Shooting

Tanzania offers bird/wind shooting safari package to provide tourists and resident hunters with unforgettable experience. The bird species most commonly hunted in Tanzania includes Sand grouse, Quail, Francolin, Guinea fowl, various species of dove and pigeons, the Egyptian goose and Spur-winged goose.


Tanzania has reviewed the fees structure with a view of making them more affordable and yet very competitive in the region. Some of the fees payable to the government include block, permit, conservation, observer, inter-company and professional hunter licence fee. However, the cost of hunting safari could vary from one company to the other depending of the level of luxury, distance from the major town and method of transport used.

For more information about fees, penalties, restrictions and other issues related to safari hunting please see the Wildlife Conservation (Tourist hunting) Regulations 2015 and its amendments of 2017 and 2019, Safari hunting in Tanzania 2019 on the publications tab.


Resident Hunting

The revised 2007 Wildlife Policy of 1998, Wildlife Act of 2009 and Resident hunting regulation of 2010 provide an opportunity to minimize the impacts of illegal hunting by emphasizing sustainable utilization of natural resources including game meat through resident hunting for livelihood support. Currently, there are eight areas designated for resident hunting in Tanzania which are as follows;

  1. Kilwa Open Area North (Kilwa- Lindi)
  2. Kisarawe Open Areas (Kisarawe -Pwani)
  3. Ugalla Niensi Game Controlled Areas (Mlele - Katavi)
  4. Simbanguru/ Igwamadete Open Areas ( Manyoni- Singida)
  5. Simanjiro- Manyara
  6. Ipemba Mpazi - Sikonge Tabora
  7. Talamai Open Area - Kiteto Manyara
  8. Matundu Forest Reserve- Iringa