Skip to main content

Ramsar Sites

Ramsar Sites are wetland areas of international importance managed under Ramsar Convention ratified by Tanzania in 2000. TAWA responsibility is to provide education to communities for sustainable use of the wetland resources, guidance on the Wetlands Friendly Investments, recommend and possibly provide best, cheap and available technologies to exploit wetlands resources.

There are four Ramsar Sites of which three; Lake Natron, Malagarasi Muyovosi and Kilombero Valley are under TAWA; while, Rufiji-Mafia-Kilwa Ramsar Site is under Forestry Division.

TAWA is the Implementing authority to the convention in the country while Vice President Office, Department of Environment is the Administrative Authority.